Early Years (Age 2–5)

Children playing

At Brackenfield the national Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is taught to all children between the ages of 2 and 5 years old. They start to follow this curriculum in the Pre-Nursery/Nursery through to the Reception Year.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is organised into seven key areas of learning: 3 prime, 4 specific areas.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Learning to co-operate and work together. Develop self-esteem. Developing concentration and persistence to complete tasks. Being motivated and willing to learn. Learning to be independent. Developing good manners.

Communication and Language

Talking, listening, extending vocabulary, developing communication skills.

Children working at desk

Physical Development

Providing opportunities to develop and practise fine and gross motor skills, understanding how their bodies work and how to keep healthy and safe.


Exploring words and texts in a variety of contexts, using a variety of books.


Developing an understanding of number, measurement, pattern, shape and space.

Understanding the World

Experimenting, planning, finding out about their environment, about its people and places, and ICT equipment.

Expressive Arts and Design

Providing the children with opportunities to explore and share their thoughts, ideas and feeling through a variety of art, design and technology, music, movement, dance and imaginative role-play activities.

An Early Years Foundation Stage Profile is completed for every child as they progress through to the Early Learning goals. These profiles are discussed with parents.

Most children successfully complete the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum by the end of the Reception year. Often children are able to move onto Key Stage One of the National Curriculum whilst still in the Reception class.